YouTube allows users to subscribe to channels in order to receive updates whenever new videos are uploaded to the platform. When a user subscribes to a YouTube channel, he/she becomes a part of the channel’s community and can also engage with the content creator and others who have subscribers via likes, comments, and shares. Subscribing to a channel is absolutely free and can be done by clicking on the Subscribe button on the channel’s page.
When someone subscribes to a channel, YouTube automatically sends notifications about the highlights from that channel. Users can opt to get a notification every time the channel publishes content by changing their notification settings.
It is to be noted that if someone unsubscribes and then re-subscribes to a channel, the notification settings will be reset.
Private: When subscriptions are set to private, no other users can see what channels a user has subscribed to. The account does not show in a channel’s Subscribers List, even if the user has subscribed to the channel.
Note: Those who participate in a subscriber-only live chat, other viewers will publicly see they are subscribed to the channel.
Public: When subscriptions are set to public, other users can see what channels a user has subscribed to. These subscriptions are listed on your channel homepage.
Here’s how to make channel subscriptions public or private
Head to YouTube on any PC/laptop.
Click your profile picture from the top right of the screen.
From the left Menu, select Privacy.
Now, turn on or off ‘Keep all my subscriptions private’.
Users can choose to make which channels they have subscribed to as private or public. By default, all settings are set to private. The account gets listed in the Subscribers List if someone subscribes to any YouTube channel.